Merchant Navy Medal 2009

The Merchant Navy are proud to announce the recipients of the Medal as follows:

  • Capt. E.H. Beetham for services to merchant shipping, to safety at sea and to the Marine Society/Sea Cadets.
  • Mrs. I.M. Bonnici, lately Administrator, Dreadnought Medical Service (Guy's and St. Thomas's Hospital Group, London) for services to the care of sick and injured merchant seafarers. (Honorary)
  • The Revd. Canon R.J. Christianson, lately Secretary General, Mission to Seafarers for services to merchant seafarers and to the International Christian Maritime Asssociation. (Honorary)
  • Capt. N. Cooper, Master, MAERSK MARYLAND (A.P. Moller/Maersk) for services to merchant shipping and to the Nautical Institute.
  • Capt. J.S. Earl for services to merchant shipping and to the Bristol Branch of the Merchant Navy Association.
  • Capt. J. Evans, MBE, RD,RNR, Hon. President, Anglo-Scottish Fishermen's Association for services to commercial fishing and fishermen in Scotland.
  • Chief Engineer W. Findlay, Associate Lecturer, Warsash Maritime Academy, Southampton Solent University for services to marine engineer education and to the Guild of Benevolence, Institute of Marine Engineering Science and Technology.
  • Capt. J.R. Harper, Master, RRS ERNEST SHACKLETON (British Antarctic Survey) for services to polar exploration, especially ice navigation and pilotage.
  • Mrs. F. Manson, Cook, Scrabster Mission, Royal National Mission to Deep Sea Fishermen for services to the welfare of fishermen in N. Scotland. (Honorary)
  • Chief Engineer J. Parry, Consultant, BP Shipping for services to merchant shipping, especially the design and operation of LNG tankers.
  • Mr. I.C. Petrie Communications Officer, WIND STAR (Windstar Cruises) for services to merchant shipping, especially cruise ships.
  • Capt. J. Pinder, RNR, Port Hydrographer, Port of London Authority for services to the Port of London and to youth maritime training.
  • Mr. J. Rimmer, Mess Man, MERSEY VIKING (Norfolk Line) for services to merchant shipping and to the RMT Union.
  • Mrs. D. Simco for services to the welfare of serving and retired seafarers and to the Queen Victoria Seamen's Rest. (Honorary)
  • Capt. P.G. Stapleton, Master, HURST POINT (Foreland Shipping) for brave conduct in attempted hijack of MV BOULARIBANK, Gulf of Aden, April, 2009.
Back To Recipients
Merchant Navy Welfare Board logo

About us

The Merchant Navy Welfare Board, acting on behalf of the Consultative Committee, is happy to answer queries about eligibility and the nomination process.

Contact us

023 8033 7799
c/o Merchant Navy Welfare Board, 8 Cumberland Place, Southampton SO15 2BH

© Copyright 2023 Merchant Navy MedalWeb Design By Toolkit Websites