Merchant Navy Medal for Meritorious Service 2021

The Merchant Navy are proud to announce the recipients of the Medal as follows:

Dr Phillip Belcher, For services to seafarer welfare during the Covid-19 pandemic

Captain Susan Emma Cloggie–Holden, For services to maritime diversity and inclusion 

Captain Brian Cushing, For services to the maritime voluntary sector and mentoring

Captain John L. David FNI SCR, For services to the Merchant Navy, maritime careers and education

Mr Gordon Foot MA MSc FNI FIMarEST FCMI FILM FIIRSM, For services to maritime career promotion

Mr Roy Leslie Glencross, For services to the Merchant Navy and maritime charities

Captain Stephen M. Gobbi JP FNI FIMarEST, For services to the maritime sector and charities  

Captain Bryan Jennings, For services to the maritime Industry including during the Covid-19 pandemic

Mr Ian Kelly, For services to fishing safety
Mr Simon Jeremy (Jebb) Kitchen, For services to the maritime sector

Captain Vishal Kumar, For services to seafarer welfare during the Covid-19 pandemic

Mr Paul Owen, For services to equality and maritime diversity

Chief Mate Christopher Scothern, For services to the Merchant Navy and maritime sector

Captain Eric Smith, For services to maritime safety and education

Captain Susan Thomson, For services to women in maritime and diversity

Ms Claire Womersley, For services to women in maritime and diversity 

The DFT announcement is available here

Any previous recipients who would like to receive a tie or brooch should contact or 02380 337799.


Back To Recipients
Merchant Navy Welfare Board logo

About us

The Merchant Navy Welfare Board, acting on behalf of the Consultative Committee, is happy to answer queries about eligibility and the nomination process.

Contact us

023 8033 7799
c/o Merchant Navy Welfare Board, 8 Cumberland Place, Southampton SO15 2BH

© Copyright 2023 Merchant Navy MedalWeb Design By Toolkit Websites